More sights in the center of Carinthia next to our "Auer von Welsbach Museum" in Althofen:
- The historic district of Althofen
- Leisure facility Althofen
- St. Georgen am Längsee
- Hochosterwitz Castle
- Exhibition Mine Knappenberg
- Mining Museum Knappenberg
- Minerals exhibition Hüttenberg
- Heinrich-Harrer-Museum in Hüttenberg
- Historic blast furnace in Heft
- Straßburg Castle
- Cathedral to Gurk
- Medieval town of Friesach
- Castle building site Friesach
- Car museum Seppenbauer in St. Salvator
- Metnitzer Dance of Death Museum
- Museum St. Veit
- Brewery Hirt
- Archaeological Park Magdalensberg
The historic district of Althofen
Althofen is probably one of the most beautiful and comparatively little visited places in Carinthia. It is not for nothing that the Carinthian Guide of the Michael Müller publishing house writes: "As if painted, the old town perched high on a hill".
In the largely restored, medieval old town (oldest inhabited hilltop settlement in Austria) are among other things worth seeing:
in the upper district is the castle with Romanesque keep, the Gothic parish church (around 1400, renewed in 1910, the only sacral building in Carinthia dedicated to St Thomas of Canterbury), the Baroque Calvary Chapel (17th century), Gothic and Renaissance town houses (Riederhaus 1590, with sgraffito paintings), the plague memorial, In the lower district the Late Romanesque branch church (Christophorus fresco 1524, Late Gothic winged altar, 1510), the early Gothic bone house (13th century). Noteworthy are also the renovated castle and its natural garden, as well as the "Anna Villa" with the "Anna tower", both privately owned with a limited number of visitors.
Guided tours of the old town can be offered if required. For further information we are at your disposal.
Leisure facility Althofen
In addition to a 58 m long giant slide, the water park also offers a whitewater canal, whirlpool, counter swimming pool and adventure pool with a water mushroom and other attractions. Furthermore a large lawn (35,000 m2), 2 beach volleyball courts and a separate ball playground for sports activities.
For children: paddling pool, children water slide, children's playground.
St. Georgen am Längsee
More than 1000 years ago, the present-day monastery hotel, also run as an education and seminar center, was founded as a Benedictine monastery near the natural swimming lake Längsee. There is also a nice golf course nearby.
Click here for the website of the region around St. Georgen am Längsee ...
Experience the historic ambience with breathtaking views of the unique Carinthian landscape. The Hochosterwitz Castle is the historic landmark of Carinthia. Due to its location on a towering cliff, it is one of the most striking castles in Central Europe and one of the most attractive and most visited castles in the entire German-speaking world thanks to its 14 gates, which secure the ascent from the plain to the summit. Castle museum, castle restaurant and if desired for an effortless visit an elevator is available.
Exhibition Mine Knappenberg
After the closure of the mining industry in Hüttenberg, which had been in operation since the Celtic era, the Exhibition Mine in Knappenberg opened in 1980. The exhibition mine is located in the so-called "Erbstollen" of 1567 with a length of 900 m.
In the unique atmosphere of the tunnel, impressions of the miners' hard work are conveyed "underground". Shown are mining methods, mining machinery, mining technology, ventilation and the transport of the ore through shafts and tunnels.
Enter a world of myths, stories and legends about miners and Saint Barbara, patron saint of miners. The Hüttenberg exhibition mine will thus become an underground experience for you, making a past world of work "comprehensible".
Mining Museum Knappenberg
The Mining Museum tells of the hard work, the life and the tradition of the miners at the Hüttenberger Erzberg, whose mining history dates back to the Celtic period about 2000 years ago.
On display are finds, historical work equipment, an extensive collection of mine lamps, a special department for surveying and explosive technology, documentaries on miners ancient customs and also the famous Hüttenberger Bergwerksordnung * of the Empress Maria Theresa.
* Rules and standards for the mine and miners.
Minerals exhibition Hüttenberg
Hüttenberg is the most diverse mineral resource in Europe and the third largest in the world. In an extensive and colorful exhibition you have the opportunity to marvel at over 200 different types of minerals in the Minerals Exhibition, such as the Löllingit named after the Hüttenberger district Lölling.
If you are inspired by the exhibition to search for and find rare stones, you can even go hunting for minerals in the so-called Albert-Halde (mine dump), Hüttenberg's largest site today.
With a practiced eye and a little patience, the minerals lover can find quartz crystals, malachite, calcite, pyrite, chalcedony, celestine, amethyst and many other minerals.
Heinrich-Harrer-Museum in Hüttenberg
Heinrich Harrer, the explorer, athlete, mountaineer and geographer was born on July 6, 1912 in Knappenberg.
His great achievements include many first ascents and numerous expeditions. These include distant areas such as Africa, Borneo, Suriname, the Andaman Islands and the Rio Xingu. His most famous adventure was experienced by Heinrich Harrer in Tibet, which he also wrote in the book "Seven Years in Tibet". During this time, he became a good and longtime friend and adviser to the Dalai Lama and Tibet became his second home.
In the Heinrich-Harrer-Museum you will find more than 5000 fascinating exhibits on an area of 1000 m2, which tell of the man Heinrich Harrer as well as his travels and expeditions. Part of the museum's Tibet section is a Buddhist prayer room, consecrated in 1992 by His Holiness the XIV Dalai Lama. On the rock face opposite the museum is the Lingkor, a Tibetan pilgrimage path. Also this was consecrated in 2002 by his Holiness the Dalai Lama.
The museum with all its exhibits and pictures enables an encounter with foreign cultures and peoples and gives an insight into the life's work of Harrer.
Historic blast furnace in Heft
Near Hüttenberg, you can visit an imposing 19th century iron producing facility.
The construction of the "Straßburg" castle as episcopal residence goes back to the builder of the Gurk Cathedral, Bishop Roman 1 (1131 - 1167). It very soon became a powerful and representative castle, which was to express decisively the independence aspirations of the "Gurker" bishops towards the Archdiocese of Salzburg. Her changeable fortunes were characterized by different phases of destruction and rebuilding.
Already at its time of origin (around 1147), the castle, surrounded by a mighty curtain wall, had an area that was largely the same as today's. For their definitive appearance, however, multiple extensions and conversions from the end of the 16th to the end of the 17th century were decisive. The charming design of the courtyard with the renaissance-like arcade rows took place only at the end of the 17th century. From the year 1991, the "Straßburg Castle" also houses a permanent exhibition in the form of a Folklore Museum, housed in seven specially adapted rooms.
Cathedral to Gurk
The Romanesque church from the 12th century is one of the most important buildings of European sacred art. Over the centuries, this building, built as a bishop's church, has become a total work of art of all architectural styles. A crypt with nearly a hundred columns holds the burial place of Saint Hemma of Gurk.
Overwhelming is the richly carved high altar and the famous Pieta by Raphael Donner.
Medieval town of Friesach
In no other town in Carinthia can visitors walk in the footsteps of the Middle Ages more atmospherically than in the "medieval castle town of Friesach".
Castle building site Friesach
The magic of stones - a historical experiment: In Friesach a medieval castle is built - with medieval methods, without modern aids, only with human and animal strength, because in the construction is paid to the greatest possible authenticity. Therefore, only natural building materials such as wood, stone, lime, sand and water are used. The castle complex will include the keep, hall building, chapel, courtyard and garden, as well as ring walls with gates and towers.
During a visit, guests will experience a strange, long-forgotten world and discover the hidden knowledge of our ancestors.
Experience year by year, as this castle grows stone by stone.
Car museum Seppenbauer in St. Salvator
Childhood dreams come true in the Auto Museum. Take a break and feel the radiance of special rarities.
Mr. Gerhard Porsche owns special jewels of the automobile history, which let in the Seppenbauer Car Museum so many hearts beat faster. Historic turn-of-the-century automobiles such as Rolls Royce, Porsche, Bentley and many more have found a home here.
In addition, visitors can expect a unique Vespa or motorcycle collection as well as an airplane prototype.
Metnitzer Dance of Death Museum
The small Museum of Metnitz , an idyllic market near the castle town of Friesach, holds an extraordinary treasure: Here are the only preserved in Austria frescoes of a monumental Dance of Death fesco from the 15th Century to see. Worth seeing is also the early Gothic Metznitzer hall church with its rich interior and defensive wall.
Museum St. Veit
The Museum St. Veit offers 7 main themes: Carinthia's first railway museum, post & telecom, motorization, gendarmerie, model railway layout in "H0" and "G", driving simulator of a railcar ET 4030, 900-year-old city history with baroque shooter targets, trabant guards and "Goldhauben" (historical costumes).
"Anyone can be a driver!" Computer-controlled model railway layout - not only inspires children, but also attracts bright looks from the fathers!
Awarded the Kärntner and the Austrian Museum Quality Seal as well as the Carinthian Quality Seal!
The Brewery Hirt, first documented in 1270, offers guided tours and gastronomy.
Exhibitions in the historic Hirter blast furnace.
Archaeological Park Magdalensberg
The finds on the Magdalensberg indicate Celtic settlement from about 50 BC. In the year 15 BC the Romans occupied the kingdom of Noricum, building the center of the occupied territory as the first capital of the province, VIRUNUM.
The dimensions of the cult place can be compared with large squares of the Mediterranean area. At the time of Christ's birth, among other things, the bronze statue of the "Youngling of the Magdalensberg" was donated by two freedmen.
The archaeological park is 10 acres and shows with its ruins essential parts of the former city:
a market basilica where official and commercial transactions were carried out, a temple of the Imperator Augustus and the city goddess Roma, the so-called dealer forum, craft district, bathing facilities and an official workshop for the production of gold bars.
The production of tools made of Noric steel is also presented impressively, which was famous in the Roman world.